Poets logo

Feathered Verses

An Ethereal Abecedarian Poem

By Xine SegalasPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4
By David - Adobe Stock

Another day goes by,

Bluejays squawk, eat seed and fly

Careening through the air

Daylight has begun to break

Early birds fly down to the lake

Follow them, do I dare?

Gentle breezes lift my spirit high

Hovering above, I join the sky

In awe, I'm floating there

Joyful sights stir my soul within

Kindred with the birds, I begin

Lifting in an ethereal prayer

Mystical journey into the sky

Nature's hummers, blur and fly

Onlookers in wonder stare

Prayers for the winged, we unite

Quietly wishing for their plight

Rescued from despair

Soaring, a communion so rare

Together, in the air, we share

Understanding beyond compare

Views of a world so frail and thin

With each letter, a new hope begins

Xenicibis, rare and fair

Yellow-breasted buntings in my prayer

Zapata wrens, may you forever soar in our care

social commentarynature poetryFor Fun
4

About the Creator

Xine Segalas

Exploring life through writing, art, and photography, drawing inspiration from the natural world and beloved tales. Author of "Xine's Pack of Strays & Others," about life with my dogs, I review books, hoping to encourage others to read.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Lovely nature poem!!!❤️

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, well done!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I had to look up Xenicibis...I was so surprised...swings their wings like clubs! You made me think of mankind's relationship to birds. I never have given it too much thought.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.