Poets logo

Fault

A Victim’s Tragedy

By Barbara BlatchPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image

When I was young and perky.

I loved cute things.

Mini skirts, high socks, cute tops,

These were things that made me feel lovely and free.

I loved the attention, and boys that wanted to talk to me.

I loved being called pretty and feeling cherished.

I had friends and for a while I thought I wasn’t alone.

But I guess I was wrong.

You see, I was barely fourteen when I first discovered the place.

I came in for the cards and games,

Even though I was the only few girls who even went in,

This place was Home and magical in my naiveness.

No one cared of how I played games,

But it was the first time I felt pretty and cool, so I loved it.

I didn’t care if they were five and twenty years older than me.

They were my friends and I trusted them.

I trusted him.

After a few months flew by he kissed me,

I didn’t stop.

After a few weeks he touched me,

I just let it slide.

He told me age didn’t matter because he loved me,

He was 30.

I was 14.

One day he made me a woman.

Or so he said.

He said he’d marry me,

He said many things,

Scary things.

I was young, I didn’t know better.

So I hid in the time that seemed like forever,

And I dived into being nothing.

Into feeling nothing.

Now that I’m in my twenties,

I went back to liking cute things,

Telling myself that it’s okay to like them again.

Telling myself it was okay to be human.

But my boyfriend called me a whore, and not a real woman.

I was just calling to be touched,

That if I get touched it was my fault.

That when I was touched it was my fault.

When I was raped it was my fault.

Everyone knows it, he said.

Everyone says it, he explained.

It was my fault?

I couldn't stop thinking about that

I should’ve known better than to trust men,

I should’ve known better than to dress how I wanted.

It was my fault.

It will always be my fault.

In his belief,

I should've been over it,

Forgotten about it.

But it hurts.

It really hurts.

I can feel the hands,

I can feel the confusion,

I can feel it all.

Please forgive me God for I have sinned,

seduced a man in my youth without knowledge of my deed.

Forgive me for all the men that have touched me and used me without my consent,

I truly am, a sinner.

It hurts,

It really hurts,

Why was I born a woman?

Why was I born to be used?

Why was I born to be guilty?

Guilty of the deeds of others.

Guilty for the monsters that live within us.

Guilty of being a victim.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Barbara Blatch

Writing is one of my on-going hobbies. I usually do it after a harsh day. Most of my writings end to being a bit sad, but it makes me feel free when I write them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.