Poets logo

Fatherless

absentee

By Tracy CooperPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fatherless
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

only one good moment

can I ever really recall

sitting on my fathers lap

driving the car

when I was five

the one sole moment

the only one

he then became non committal

I knew no good lessons

I experienced no quality time

emotional distance was in place

I felt nothing and neither did he

perhaps his drunkenness

made him absentee

or maybe he just wanted

to be free of any responsibility

all I know

Is that he left both physically and emotionally

he absolutely abandoned me

no care and devotion did he show

I really got to know him personally

I forgive him but I do have regret

it's something I will never be able to forget

being fatherless

ed

or mayb

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.