Poets logo

Father's Day

Mental Health Poem

By Skylar RellaPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Happy Father’s Day!

I appreciate how you yelled at my mom about every little thing she did, making her feel like a worthless piece of shit.

Happy Father’s Day!

I am so thankful for the way you emotionally manipulated your ex-wife, ignored her favorite child, and made sure your favorite was blissfully oblivious to the whole situation.

Happy Father’s Day!

I like to think back to the good ol’ days when you stole our family’s car and most of our money, too.

Happy Father’s Day!

It’s pleasant to remember when the police showed up at our house and kicked you out; you took a bag and never again stepped foot in our once shared home.

Happy Father’s Day!

My favorite father-child memory was having to meet up with you at the park on the weekends because you were no longer allowed in the house.

Happy Father’s Day!

I remember that time I called to meet you there, but you said you couldn’t because you had fled the country and were in Italy now.

Happy Father’s Day!

It’s because of you and what you did to us that my family can’t even afford the cheapest house or car without help from generous friends and lots of luck.

Happy Father’s Day!

It’s because of you that I couldn’t afford to do the things I wanted, like go to my dream school.

Happy Father’s Day!

I wish I knew sooner that my mom wasn’t the bad guy like you said she was, to protect your own image.

Happy Father’s Day!

You’re a liar and a criminal disguised as a fun, loving dad.

Happy Father’s Day!

You deceived me, manipulated me, controlled me.

Happy Father’s Day!

You turned me against my own family for what you did but refused to take responsibility for.

Happy Father’s Day!

You can’t be trusted.

Happy Father’s Day!

I haven’t seen you since I was 9.

Happy Father’s Day!

You’re a coward who isn’t strong enough to admit his own blame.

Happy Father’s Day!

How many years can you go pretending like you’ve never done a single thing wrong?

Happy Father’s Day!

And you wonder why I stopped responding to your “I love you's”, and why I’ve stopped saying

Happy Father’s Day.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Skylar Rella

visual & performing artist.

original art attached to written pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.