Poets logo

Fatal Distraction

When The Hunter Becomes The Hunted

By Steffany PopePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Fatal Distraction
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

⚠️ WARNING ⚠️ MAY CONTAIN TRIGGERS!

Daunting nightmares turn into day stares.

Images fragment into pixels and squares.

Stressors and triggers are anything but spared.

Tormented by painful memories.

Remembering all of the things you did to me.

Avoiding explosive behavior is not within reach.

Choosing to discipline myself, just long enough to share my story.

The story that my reality isn’t a fairytale, it actually pretty gory.

I need not say more or les’t it be criminatory.

Oh no, what have I done? One hand so cold and the other holding a gun.

No one is to know what has happened here; no body not a single one.

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Steffany Pope on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create, just like everybody else. I also happen to say what most are thinking, but are hesitant on saying out loud...

Check it out...

surreal poetryCONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was so poignant yet so beautifully written! I loved it!

  • Feelings are too deep for words. Sending hugs.

  • Profound Words 💬 ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Very strong emotion, you can feel it through out the poem. Sending you hugs, Steffany 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.