Poets logo

Fast Fashion Is A Scam

A poem

By Ash Larkin (She/Her)Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
"My scissors screaming a big 'snip!'"

A starved child model

Silk mottle

A photoshopped eyebrow

No plus size tho

Wide hip, wear it too damn tight

Greenwashing me left and right

A BIPOC model in a sea of white

Is this trending?

Or is it just...

Fast Fashion

Fast Fashion is a scam

Fast Fashion

Pollution makers on the Gram

Fast Fashion

Won’t stop ‘till it makes you barf

Fast Fashion

Slaveholder’s fashion scam

Body dysmorphia

Diet culture

Targeting your child’s cornea

Counterfeit sustainability

Churning out 500 new duds a week

Child labour at an all-time high

From factory to landfill unused

One-use closets cost workers some abuse

Who’s really paying?

Should I buy myself some more?

At the thrift store, size is large

I’ll do some gathering

Look how flattering!

I put on some weight now

Oh my god, I have no clothes now

Refashion a romper, how?

Seam rip the sides and add a patch, how neat

Still small, I should have measured it

I mend because Earth is filling

With clothes and tilling

Fast Fashion

Fast fashion is a scam

Fast Fashion

Pays workers 200 dollars a month

Fast Fashion

Won’t stop ‘till it makes you barf

Fast Fashion

Slaveholder’s fashion scam

Thrifted piece

For my niece

My sister calls me cheap

I spruce my thrift finds

With ruffles and pleats

Sometimes I add a band

My scissors screaming a big “snip!”

The romper is gonna be a cute paperbag

Are you kidding?

Vertical stripes are slimming

“My favorite part about sewing

It’s therapy

And it helps with slowing

Mass-production and overconsumption

Granny, I sew now

I miss designing dresses in the backyard

You’ll be proud I made something, I didn’t buy

I got a little better but it's still hard

Granny, I put on weight and now nothing fits me

Granny, I’m gonna mend it, I’ll use Kylie’s old tee

Your little girl is making things to wear

Granny, I love you. Thank you for teaching me to care"

So overwhelming

Should I start hemming?

Ten seasons in a month

Incredibly hard to Keep Up with the brainwash

Should I wear vintage or sew my own?

What can you afford?

5 dollar t-shirt, oh, what a score!

It disintegrated after just one little wash

At least I wore it

You just hoard it

Fast Fashion

Fast Fashion makes you blind

Fast Fashion

Pollution makers on the Gram

Fast Fashion

Won’t stop ‘till it makes you barf

Fast Fashion

Slaveholder’s fashion scam

One single company yearly destroys

4.3 billion unsold clothes

In just a decade

60 tons of new apparel wasted

Pandemic earnings make CEOs rich

While garment workers die unpaid and sick

Will we ever care?

We drown our sorrows at H&M

What do you wear?

You’ve got enough to spare

This paperbag linen pant is coming along

With any luck, I’ll finish them before I go

People think donation is the solution

To the planet’s textile pollution

Goodwill doesn’t want your garbage

Is that your contribution?

I want to teach people to mend what they can

The most sustainable closet is the one you already have

While my scissors cut away the excess fabric

My heart skips a beat in panic

Did I just cut through the zipper tape?

Darn, I should have started with an easy cape

Do you like what I made?

Fast Fashion

Fast Fashion is cheap

Fast Fashion

Buy used or good quality if you’ve got the means

Fast Fashion

Small business is the true green queen

We don’t need Fast Fashion

True revolution looks like a pair of pre-loved custom-fitted jeans.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Ash Larkin (She/Her)

Loves sewing and creative storytelling. PTSD fighter. Former tour guide building an online thrift store from the ground up.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.