Poets logo

Farewell Silence

Home is where the heart is for me. Home is with the people that I love, even if that means I have to dream about them sometimes.

By Olivia G. PodeaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Farewell Silence
Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

The sound of empty silence, brushing at my cheek,

The pain of all that’s quiet, now compelled to speak.

The gentle hand of slumber, touch me with a dream,

Of a graceful lark, singing my lover’s theme.

Oh how romantic! My love only in a vision!

Oh how tragic! Living in my sweet loving prison!

To be until the dawn, oh you selfish harem moon!

To taunt me with your prisoner, and take him so soon!

Must I always dream, a loving boy and singing lark,

Only to wake to silence, alone in whispering dark?

No! If that is so I shall not wake! Silence leave me be!

Leave me to my dream where he may be with me!

Goodnight then, silence, farewell quiet pain,

For with my boy and lark, I forever shall remain!

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Olivia G. Podea

If you like my poetry please give them a heart! If you want to read more you can find my book, “A Thousand Lives: Poetry Collection,” on Amazon! Thank you! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.