Poets logo

farewell

a free-verse poem from the bottom of my heart.

By ChloePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
farewell
Photo by Trym Nilsen on Unsplash

summer

before you go away, i want to say

thank you.

you let me have all the free time i ever wanted.

you let

me sit in a loft with bright blue colors

and let

me write to my heart's content.

summer

if you ever come around again, i have to say

you broke

my heart.

you made my best friend go away,

and then

you made her leave me forever.

summer

you ended on july 11th and you died on

august

10th.

summer

i used to melt in your arms to laugh and play

but this

year, it just wasn't the same.

summer

i promise, i'll miss you a lot

but this

time,

summer,

maybe it's better if you left for a while.

summer,

maybe it would be best if you left me alone.

summer,

maybe if you went away, i wouldn't have to think about you anymore.

summer

thank you.

even

though you're gone, i'll always remember you.

just like

her.

summer

goodbye for a while.

summer,

thanks for everything.

summer

i know you did what you could before that day.

summer

i know you tried to make me happy.

summer

i know that you didn't mean it

but you

knew the future

and you

didn't warn me.

...summer.

it's time for you to go.

farewell,

summer.

***

*disclaimer: i did lose a friend, but she did not die. she left. don't worry.*

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Chloe

she’s back.

a prodigious writer at 14, she has just completed a 100,000+ word book and is looking for publishers.

super opinionated.

writes free-verse about annoying people.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Separation can often feel like death, and I had the same impression as Dharrsheena before the disclaimer. Beautifully written poem on loss and remembering, it's so hard to part ways.

  • Thank you for the disclaimer, I was so worried. But I'm so sorry she left 🥺 It's never easy losing a friend. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

ChloeWritten by Chloe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.