Poets logo

Farewell and Remember

In Memory of My Father

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Farewell and Remember
Photo by Romain Paget on Unsplash

Looking back I desire to share what I've learned

Of winding rivers, upward spiraling trees,

Monumental mountains and icy blue streams.

I will write it all down, my memories great

The silvery scales of rainbow trout, the bear,

The Alaskan eagle that sores, and the mouse.

Becoming a father, afraid and excited

Holding the baby you were, guiding the child

So proud of the young woman you are, so proud.

I have seen the world, its wonders, and secrets

Jerusalem's Dome of the Rock, Egypt's great Nile,

Mexico City for three years, and France.

I've written it down in the Story of Me.

I have time yet, to share what I know and don't

I bequeath my old quill, parchment, and black ink.

Write what you have learned, the good, the bad, the sweet.

I give you my journals, my notes - you must read.

Read to your children - remember me and smile.

My gift to you has been my love, light, and truth.

The love of life, the light of knowledge - pure truth.

I wrote this poem a couple of months after my father was diagnosed with cancer. While he was recovering from surgery, my daughter and I would visit him and my mother in Utah. During one of those visits, he shared a story that he had begun to write. As I read each page I realized that it was a farewell to his children. When I returned home, I wrote "Farewell and Remember". I returned to Utah for his 79 birthday last July and then two weeks later he passed away early in the morning, August 1, 2021.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing! Subscribed💕

  • Very beautifully written and I'm so sorry for your loss

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.