Poets logo

Far Across the Room

Love at First Sight?

By Latoya Giles Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Love at first sight, does it exist? I didn't think so, but now I do...Seeing them across the room from you. You briefly catch eyes...they see you too.

"Oh no, look away!" your panicked brain shouts. "Just act natural, don't stand out." Your brain continues to plan, sweaty hands and stomach upset.

You calm down. Just wait, it's not time yet. "Are they still looking?", your brain asks, then says to "look up and check".

A nervous smile escapes. "They saw it!" *face palm* "Oh no, look back down. Hmmmmm...let's go to the bathroom now."

Everything is a blur. Nothing is solid, the only color to be seen is grey. "Where is the restroom?" you ask. The grey blur points, "it's that way."

"Of course the bathroom is over there where you are my handsome and beautiful superstar. You don't know me yet, but you will very soon. Holding my hand under the moon. Sharing kisses and whispers 'I love you'"

*SLAP* Get it together! You haven't talked to them yet. Making future plans of holding hands, slow down. Let's walk. We're almost there, now talk!

"Hi, I'm Erin, how are you? I've been seeing you see me from across the room. I love...uh...your hair. It's really cool. "You fool!" my brain says. "Shut up so they can reply."

"I'm Dana." *stretches out hand* "Hi. You're cool too. I did see you and I like what I see. I hope I'm not being too forward but, you wanna leave with me?"

"Heck yea!" I wanted to shout, but be cool. "It's not too forward at all, I'd love to...

*to be continued*

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.