Poets logo

Family Heirlooms

A poem

By Chloë J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Family Heirlooms
Photo by Gary Yost on Unsplash

My grandmother passed down a ring she got for her eighth grade graduation.

I wear it almost every day.

She also gave me her incessant fears and worries-

I wish I’d gotten her unfailing hospitality, but she gave that to my mom instead.

/

When he died, my Papa left me a jacket that smells like him-

it still does now, years later.

He also left me the snippets of the made up lullaby he’d sing my sisters and I to sleep with,

stuck in my head forever in the sweetest way. I hope I can sing it to my kids one day.

/

Mom is constantly giving me so much,

tangible and intangible, except for her boundless generosity.

I am a fear-driven miser,

but even when she has next to nothing, she gives.

/

Dad gave me a college education and his work ethic.

Additionally, he gave me the anxiety of trying (and failing) to live up to him.

We’d never talk about it, and he’d probably disagree,

but I think he gave me some of his fears, too.

/

Somehow, my great-grandfather (in blood and name only),

a man I never met, passed down his alcoholism.

It skipped a few generations, but it flirts with me, often,

especially when I’m lonely.

/

I am an unintentional magpie person,

an amalgamation of relics and hurts and joys and shadows and hopes

that ebb and flow and amplify and diminish and traverse generations and continents.

For better or worse.

And so are you.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Wow that was amazing and so familiar! Very well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.