Poets logo

Family Demise

Who worn the horns of a dragon?

By Cassie PerryPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Bloodline lies thicker than layers of dirt,

Spouting comforters to cover up the truth,

They say water erodes,

Yet restores the circle,

Today papers and artwork with water stained memories were discovered,

An explosion of emotions soar the air,

The pill of resentment—I didn't swallow it,

But you shoved it down my throat,

Waiting for me to choke,

Thankful for the fingers I had to jam down my pipes to cough up the truth,

You always envied the treasure chest I held close,

Scratching,

Trying and let your scales breathe,

Because the fire inside you burn them- hot as a furnace,

I won't allow you to take any more gold coins that were blessed by my savior's innocence.

Because this Peach is ripe,

But not for your claws of picking,

anymore.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.