Poets logo

Fallen

The Lonely Soul

By Mackenzie RosePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

As the autumn leaves crumpled,

So did I,

I kept my hands in my pockets, and my nose tucked in,

Because Mum said to.

Daddy told me to stay home,

Near the heat stove,

But I pulled on my new sweater and coat,

I wanted to feel the cold.

Wind whipped thought the air like a train whistle,

Tears streamed down my cheek bones,

But my eyes weren't dry,

Not this time.

The frost shimmered on the pale grass,

Like stars in the night sky,

Birds grazed across the sparking field,

In search of a hidden treasure.

As I walked on the concrete,

My steps kept a constant beat,

Like my Daddy's old clock,

That hangs on the living room wall.

My mind was thinking so fast,

Like a Kentucky Derby race horse runs,

That I didn't realize I was falling,

Until I hit the ground.

My bottom him first,

Hitting the cold, hard pavement,

Sending chills up my spine,

And coldness through my body.

My head was last,

Smacking the ground after my hands,

Making a sick 'crack' noise,

And making my vision go dizzy.

It was then I realized that I wasn't alone,

A young man with hair,

As black as coal,

With his hand reaching down to grab my own.

He pulled my cold, limp body,

Off the wet, hard ground,

And touched my lonely soul,

Tucked deep within myself.

His hand was warm,

It made my fingers tingle,

As if pins and needles were pricking me,

But I didn't pull away.

His eyes were light,

Like Grandmum's homemade honey,

And twinkled brightly,

Like the North Star.

He walked me home,

To find my frantic parents,

Who had found my note,

And were relieved to see me.

And the young man with hair as black as coal,

And eyes like honey,

Stayed by the heat stove, with myself,

Drinking Mum's homemade hot cocoa.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mackenzie Rose

Special education teacher 👩‍🏫, animal lover ❤️, big sister🙋🏻‍♀️, pro earth 🌏, otter enthusiast✌🏻, consistent napper 😴, taco devotee 🌮, wife 💍. Sensitive soul who observes everything. 🦋Forgives but never forgets. 💐

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.