Poets logo

Fallacy

A Poem

By Kyle CejkaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Deep in the Night my mind replays

phantom symphonies of yesterdays:

hollow vows by inconstant friends;

the songs their lies were written in

On sheaves of paper they'd inscribe

vows of acceptance line-by-line

In Love letters they'd swear to me

their hearts were mine eternally

"No Matter What" their pens would drip

until their paper mask of faith would rip;

then all their promises I once believed

were proven nothing more than fallacy

The fantasies they took such care to build

and all the hopeful dreams they instilled

(those twisted fangs of a serpent's kiss)

poisoned my heart when they abandoned it

But Loves never dies by faithless words:

it grows wings and flies as fast as birds;

leaving wyrm-tongued villains far behind

finding in faith that the venom is purified

So in the Night when my mind replays

those phantom symphonies of yesterdays

I seek those lessons taught by inconstant friends;

reprising the songs their lies were written in

All that's come before has helped me prepare

for those friends I'll find who will care

to call upon the Love I hold deep inside

singing a song to make my heart beat again

With special thanks to all the False, without whom I would not have been inspired to write this. Namárië! Nai hiruvalyë Valimar.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Kyle Cejka

Kyle Cejka is an incarcerated author whose profile is facilitated by his Wife, Cydnie. He lacks direct internet access, but is determined to fulfill his lifelong dream of being a world-reknowned bestselling author despite any obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.