Poets logo

Fall of an Angel

Inverse Challenge Entry

By Madi HaywoodPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Image from Randall Handley on Pinterest

I soar freely through the air,

High above the heavens

Floating,

Like a bird

Light as a feather

Wind in my wings

For the first time,

My eyes open wide

Then, nothing.

Flooding through me

A bursting dam of pain

I close my eyes

I falter, I fall

Like an asteroid

Crashing to the ground

Difficult to live with

Mortality is

Like losing a game,

Being punished for each wrong movement

Our paths are forced into

The hands of God

Caught in

The game of Life

Free Verse

About the Creator

Madi Haywood

Hi there! My name's Madi and I'm an aspiring author. I really enjoy reading modernised fairy tales, and retellings of classic stories, and I hope to write my own in the future. Fantasy stories are my go-to reads.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Im floating too after reading this! Great work!

Madi HaywoodWritten by Madi Haywood

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.