Poets logo

Fairest of them all

A poem

By Hannah AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image was downloaded off of Google. Not mine. If the artist would like me to take it down or give them proper credit please contact me.

Mirror mirror on the wall

Who's the fairest of them all

Not you, my mistress, not you indeed

For beauty, sadly, isn't measured from creeds

Mirror mirror on the wall

Tell me tell me who's the best of them all

Not you, my mistress, may you never misread

For being the best often comes with weeds

Mirror mirror tell me what you see

Is there anything that separates me?

You see, my mistress, this is the question to ask

For not even in all the sun's light should you bask

Mirror mirror on the ceiling

Tell me please, what am I feeling?

This, my mistress, is a question I can answer

It's loneliness you feel, my absolute candor

Mirror mirror broken on the ground

Have I lost my crown as I lay here bound?

The shards stay silent

Never did they speak

For even before the shatter

I was weak

Glass doesn't talk

It has no name

But in the darkness of silence

I made up a game

I'd ask it questions

Pretend the response

But I got sick of the nonchalance

I threw the mirror onto the floor

I couldn't stand the sight of myself anymore

I took a shard and dug it in deep

So no one would know the secrets I keep

I lay here quiet, not a sound nor a peep

With pieces of glass shoved in deep

This is not where it ends

These wounds themselves will mend

As each fractal falls

From the holes torn open in my skin

It is not my wounds nor my calls

That make me heal or grin

What truly makes me smile

As I place the shards around my head

Fixing the crown for which I had bled

Is that finally I stand tall

The fairest of them all

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.