Poets logo

Failing in my Head

This is a poem about the feelings of inadequacy and failure and fighting the inner demons of self-doubt while you know you're doing fine. This poem focuses on those feeling from a student's perspective, but this feeling can apply to any situation where you feel hopeless when you have no reason to feel so.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The title of the poem over scattered pieces of parchment paper with blurred poems written on them. In the top right corner there is an in pen on a stand dripping ink onto one of the pages.

"~" signifies a new stanza

Done.

I am,

Completely,

And utterly

Done.

~

The grades

Say,

That I am

Passing.

~

The grades

Say,

That I am

Doing well.

~

But

My mind

Does not.

~

There is,

So much

That is

Going on.

My

Academic mind,

Has

Ceased,

To function.

~

All of these

Thoughts.

Circling around,

In my head.

All of which

Can not

Be true.

But

I

Feel

As if,

They are.

~

I’m overwhelmed.

I’m scared.

Of

All the things,

That

Once

Me down.

~

And,

Like always,

Not meltdown.

Stay

In control

Fight

The demons

Every day.again

Are problems,

Solely,

In my mind.

~

But

In my mind,

They are,

Very real.

The Fear.

The dread.

The panic.

~

Are just

Too much,

Even

When facts.

Do not

Align,

When

The facts say

That I can.

~

I just

Need.

To hold on,

To push past

The lies.

Of the

Insecurities

That are,

Holding

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This poem is featured in one of the many installments of a cute romance series, here is the link to that story: Story Failing in my Head

If you like this poem, fear not! I have many published poems, and there is more on the way! I also have several works of fiction you can look at. For more information, click the link in my bio, or right here: Click Here

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.