Poets logo

Faded

---

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
12
Faded
Photo by Callie Gibson on Unsplash

I feel far from everyone (but you)

Faded, a cloud that’s evaporated into clay

A desert wasteland with scrambled scribbles lined on my back

No one can read,

Its faded like me

A mushy, lump of clay

Soon I'll be dust

All my work is clattered in a silent decay

Like the cat in Schrödinger's

box.

I'll love you

Until my last breath,

My sweet, lush Anabell-Lee,

Until I fade under the mountain of my careless folly

And drown in misery.

To see you smile is all I need

As all others ignore my pleas,

A faded, foolish poet

With dreams of prose fancy.

I'm overlooked, washed out

And all that I can see

Is all my words getting squashed and soaked and squished and faded

Into glorious, random infinity.

performance poetry
12

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    I love it!! Amazing word play

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Oh my, such a beautiful job, Melissa! So many of your phrases always stop me in my tracks - such wonderful work, always! You will not fade 🥹❤️

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    Melissa, this is so beautifully rendered! Your words certainly will not fade, not with this talent. 💕🙂

  • C. Rommial Butler10 months ago

    Reminds me of the theme of the song "Hope", which was originally written by David Gilmour, I think. This version by Anathema is one of my faves though: https://youtu.be/yGNveAkgMH0

  • I often feel like this as well and it really sucks. I loved how beautifully you've woven this poem with your words! Sending you lots of love and hugs Merly! 💖

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is amazing, Melissa. Very well done.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    <3

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    You will not fade, Melissa, because you've left an indelible mark with your writing.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Great imagery on faded

  • I see you. I read you, Melissa. You are not Schrodinger's cat. And though all things in this world do return to dust. You will be remembered by those who care for you.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.