Poets logo

Facing My Demons

Demons

By Di BeckPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

I'm torn in half cut deep inside

by these demons I try to hide

painted face bricked up walls

hold myself strong and tall

a shattered soul and misplaced heart

alone and scared within the dark

wonder through this divide

I can not run I can not hide

a word of caution for you to hear

with demons lurking show no fear

Innocence stolen from within

will I ever be whole again

my scars have faded tears have dried

an emptiness forms deep inside

a hollow shell without a soul

my mind's not right I can not grow

I force a smile and hide my eyes

demons lurking just inside

a battle within they sometimes win I often loose

do I stand and fight for right or do I choose to leave the light...

I turn and face the night

No longer will I hide from sight

I am beauty power and light divine

I stand and face what is rightfully mine

Fears be dammed and demons run

I am the only one

This is my life no longer yours

A crack is heard beyond the doors

Walls are breaking deep within

With strength and love my life begins

A scream a yell a curse or two

No more will I yield to you

Years of torment trials and pain

My strength has been regained

A soul returns and laughs for hours on end

Broken no more and whole again

Paint runs off a happy face

I am free from this place

Divided no longer

Each day I grow stronger....

inspirational

About the Creator

Di Beck

I'm a single mom just trying to live day to day.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Di BeckWritten by Di Beck

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.