Poets logo

Faces

My home rests in your smiles.

By Danielle CampbellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

H- Humiliation

O-Opression

M-Manipulation

E- Emanicipation

In relation

to this topic,

I've paid thousands to a therapist to

top it, and

DROP IT.

A single mother,

once a tortured wife,

I hid my pain deep within

and chose to sacrifice.

To build a house that would keep us safe,

safety an illusion,

the mortgage was a waste.

A TASTE

of what could be but the dark cloud of my childhood

followed me,

hallowed me,

SWALLOWED ME!

Keeping me under a dirty thumb,

beating me until I acted right or,

my brain and bones were numb.

HOME

four walls where I had no voice,

when you're young and vulnerable

HOME is never your CHOICE.

Grown,

three beautiful souls raised who,

THANK GOD, didn't understand

the force of my father's or

my husband's hand.

Running from the monsters,

hiding from the shame,

they never knew what we were running from,

but they loved me still the same.

I have not a smell nostalgic,

or a holiday to reminisce,

but if I must describe my home,

it's in the faces of my kids.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Danielle Campbell

I believe in life after heartache, hope after death, and the healing sound of a sentence that rings in your ears.

God is inside, look there.

Look up when you want to see the stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.