Poets logo

Faces

Life is just a bunch of mask, you paint on everyday.

By Kelsie Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Faces
Photo by John Noonan on Unsplash

I never would of thought this picture would grow to mean so much to me...

The day this picture was captured;

I was a different girl..

I was a girl who was about to be come a wife, I diddnt realize until life hit hard that all long I had known that deep down.....

I was a lost soul drifting into the open waters that were made by tears of depression, loneliness, and hatred for my own skin….

Day after day Drifting farther and farther into the sea, by the waves controlled by others and my own fear to be on my own.…

I wasn’t happy with the life that had been thrown in front of me, that by trying to do right by everyone else, I had painted my life into a image I thought of burning everyday until finally I broke myself into a million pieces…

I decided to run down my path in life and do anything I could to kill any image others had of the girl that was created by selfish, control, and fear of being alone…. Until one day I looked up and realized I had lost the girl in this picture forever.

I don’t know who she is anymore, I don’t know where she went….

I don’t see her anymore when I look in the mirror.

The girl in this photo doesn’t look like me anymore… she was sad, her voice was muted, her plans consisted of doing what’s others needed to get done, and always putting herself last…

The only thing that she had in that moment that was perfect, called her mom…. & life let her name them her daughter&son.

This girl was weak, she was so broken, no self worth to show, her mind and heart were good but clouded by others actions...

The girl in this photo wasn’t always the kindest person, she passed judgement, she spoke words that cut deep, her actions held tears from others and the path she walked lead her down a dark road... Leading to the hardest lesson/ battle in our life; that of the one with ourselves…

This girl is dead, she died a long time ago but it took a new face to realize it.

I’m not that girl in the picture anymore, and my past doesn’t define who I’m going to be one day.

The girl I am right now is just half the one;I will be when I become the person...

The strength to continue on, no matter how hard or how many times I fall;I will get up again..

This girl in this photo....

She’s someone’s I used to know...

I’m not so sure when she started to realize her worth and glow...

When she decided to get up and fight for lead on the road to lead her to me; we are so different in so many ways…

But one thing will always remain common in every version of myself;

when life gets hard, and the black starts to cover our vision.....we both look up at the light…

& watch for the guide to the right path to the next girl, never stopping until we reach the last girl, we will ever be.

The best version of a girl, who never believed she could become someone, she could one day be proud of…

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.