Poets logo

Face In The Window

When Love Creeps In

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
Face In The Window
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I dreamt you there, across the room,

I was at your windowsill.

I moved in for a closer look,

the anticipation was a thrill!

*

You were watching I Love Lucy,

dressed in a sweatshirt and some shorts.

The way you lounged there on the chair,

got my heart all out of sorts.

*

You had a glass of wine,

I sipped a 7-11 slurpy.

Being tipsy made you giggle,

mine made me a little burpy.

*

You headed to the kitchen for a refill,

and some popcorn.

Your phone rang, I knew it was him,

I rued the day that he was born.

*

He cheated with your bestfriend,

yet you continue to forgive them.

They don’t deserve you girl,

or the patience that you show them.

*

They should grovel at your feet,

make up for their disrespect.

Yet, they continue to hook up,

challenging your intellect.

*

If you had only chosen me,

seen how I would have loved you.

You wouldn’t cry yourself to sleep,

alone now in your living room.

*

I stand guard here at your window,

your salvation from their torment.

I don’t understand your indecision,

what about that don’t you get.

*

When I told you what they’d done,

you got mad and yelled at ME!

That restraining order was insane,

no, I wasn’t being mean.

*

You misunderstood the way I grabbed you.

when I shook you by your shoulders.

How could I ever hurt my girl?

when you're my one and only treasure.

*

I know you didn’t mean it when,

you said, you were happy I got fired,

you often say things you don’t mean,

when you are hungry, stressed, and tired.

*

If you would only let me in,

you’d see, I simply want what’s best.

I need to tell you how I feel,

need to get it off my chest.

*

Back when I was your lover.

when we met all those years ago.

Across the room we fell in love,

our hearts created a crescendo.

*

You vowed your heart to me,

and then tore it all away.

But we’re never far apart, my love,

I know you'll see that one day.

*

You’ll see my love for you,

and then take me in your arms.

I will protect you from the pain,

will protect you from all harm.

*

Until then, I’ll be right here, dear,

In moonlight- despite all the innuendo.

The man who holds your heart,

the face outside your window.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.