Poets logo

Fabric Scissors

A symbol of trust

By Jolene PoulinPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Fabric Scissors
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I sit with my fabric

Undoing what I once did so long ago

Have you used these before, I ask

No, he replies

Good, is my heavy response

We wait in silence

The dull slice of the scissors

goes through the fabric

one snip at a time

Don't, I add

Those are your fabric scissors, he questions

Yes, is my simple reply

I carve through my fabric

unsure if the pull is from

the dull edge of scissors

or the thick weave of thread

I am a butcher and the

fabric my prey

The two work together

scissors and fabric

to create a rhythm

snip snip snip

go the blades of my weapon

rip rip rip

go the threads of my fabric

These scissors need to be sharpened,

I think to myself

Is it the fabric resisting

or is it the scissors

incapable of doing

their job.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Jolene Poulin

I'm an amateur writer with an interest in fiction and general story telling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.