Poets logo

Fable

A poem by Caroline Stanley

By Caroline StanleyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

the moon bled stars into the dark sky,

while a boy called out to the sky in delight:

my mother says I have stars in my eyes

the sky had a hunger the stars couldn’t satisfy,

so the sky saw the moon and took a bite,

and the moon bled stars into the dark sky.

an ordinary day in late July

became ruinous for the boy that night

whose mother says he has stars in his eyes.

the moon looking on was horrified

to see the boy in a tragic plight.

the moon bled stars into the dark sky

to warn the boy against this outcry,

but the boy yelled to the sky with all his might

my mother says I have stars in my eyes

the sky ate the boy and was satisfied,

while the moon withered away at the sight.

the boy bled stars into the dark sky,

my mother says I had stars in my eyes

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.