Poets logo

F*** You Cancer

You are strong - even on the days without strength. You are resilient - even on the days you've had enough. You are powerful - even on the days in which you have lost all energy.

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Your machines pump poison into my veins

so that I may live a life free of fear and pain.

By the grace of God I have been taught to fight.

It is here that my faith is tested as all my demons come to light.

The strength of my body speaks to the magnificence of my mind;

For this wretched illness does not leave me defined.

Invisible rays burn as they penetrate my skin,

Outlining the strength of the soul within.

Through the darkness my soul will always shine,

Although never before has my soul known such deep and broken confine.

Heavy is my body, slow are my thoughts;

Each and every single day my stomach ties in knots.

Yet the path that lays ahead I refuse to forsake,

For underestimating my strength should be my last mistake.

I am here and I am ready,

F*** you cancer, you no longer scare me.

slam poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.