Poets logo

Eye in the Sky

An ode to the Pterodactyl

By Joe PattersonPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
7
Eye in the Sky
Photo by Arthur Shuraev on Unsplash

They call me Pterodactyl. If you take a close glance up high you’ll see me, the dino eye in the sky.

I came from the background of Pterosaurs and you can bet your last fossil I could tell a saur a tale of sores that would make you say tell me more.

Somewhere above the water full of seagulls, but below the sky of eagles. In the middle of both you’ll find a Me-gull.

Knowledge seekers found out fish was my favorite dish and my ability to see above all is the greatest wish.

The other dinosaurs look at my flesh and see a skinny me, but I’m a wing above the rest so they envy me.

A hollow air-filled, bird like king of the Jurassic. I am Pterodactyl and I’ll always be a classic.

nature poetryOde
7

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 21 days ago

    Brilliant! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Wow Joe! I’m almost starting to like dinosaurs due to your brilliant poetry 🤩✅ You could publish a book of it… seriously! Loved: ‘ I came from the background of Pterosaurs and you can bet your last fossil I could tell a saur a tale of sores that would make you say tell me more.’

  • This was a wonderful tribute! I loved it!

  • Cathy holmes24 days ago

    This is great. Well done, Joe.

  • Anna 24 days ago

    Great entry here! I wrote about the pterodactyl too! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.