Poets logo

Extinguish

Flames of Death Danced Around Me

By J.C. RussePublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
Extinguish
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Fire burns bright

The spark does ignite

Passion glows

Oxygen

You fed my soul's flame

Breath so sweet

Once in love

I used to smile

Perfect lie

Whisky brings

Cruel evil always

Hide, my loves!!

Liquor fueled

Demon eyes appear

Hell is here

Terrified

My poor children hide

While I fight

Strangled me

Hands crushing my throat

Breath now gone

Who are you?!

On me were your hands

Not in love

Tried firmly

To extinguish me

Brutally

My smile gone

My body lifeless

My babes wail

How could you?!

You were my Fireman

My hero

My daughter

My courageous girl

Help me please

911 she rang

Amidst fear and pain

She saved us

Life of lies

I made so many

Excuses

My daughter

My true heroine

I’m still here

Sham Fireman

Pathetic human

I survived

You fucked up

Do not close your eyes

I still fight

Fantasies

Of Reckoning Day

Engulf me

Prison for

The deadly Fireman

We demand

We smile again

We are not victims

We survived!

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

J.C. Russe

Brand new to writing, looking for new and creative ways to express myself and see what happens!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Very powerful. This was mesmerizing ❤️

  • I love that it was shaped like a dagger and was a powerful set of words, you have a subscription from me

  • Whoaaa, this was so powerful and full of emotions. Very beautifully written!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    Very heartfelt

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.