Poets logo

Exploring Grief

.

By Kiki Le TigrePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

My father was my first best friend

And my father has just died

I took the call, the news, a seat

And buckled up for a ride

*

What do I do now?

I guess you call the M.E.

And then

Whatever,

Explore grief for the next 200 years.

After that these strangers named family want money

Before you've even dried any tears.

*

I was saying, look at this button, this bottle, this pen,

He was here and now he is not.

Some grabbed up a few memories and cherished their love,

Others spent all day assessing the lot.

*

I'm so lost in my loss,

Booze my sobering sauce,

My grief is made from love that

No one else has

No one came hopeful with backpacks or boxes,

Just paperwork and

Thick garbage bags.

heartbreaknature poetrysad poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Kiki Le Tigre

Kiki Le Tigre is a part-time poet, part-time human, committed to honest self expression. This expression is made public in hopes of inspiring others, or creating a connection point for those who may feel lost. Email: [email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    I’m sorry for your loss. I hope writing about your grief is a therapeutic practice for you.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. You did an excellent job of capturing the feelings of losing a loved one here.

  • Omg, I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 I can only imagine the devastation you're feeling. Cry as much as you want, it's a good way to express our feelings. Sending hugs and prayers to you

Kiki Le TigreWritten by Kiki Le Tigre

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.