Poets logo

Expecting

by Alana Leonard

By Alana S. LeonardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Expecting
Photo by Christopher Ruel on Unsplash

The moon shines brightly above, 


A silver coin in the sky. 


In me, a small life grows,


Shifting with the moonrise. 



.

Sleep does not come easily. 


Each time I begin to doze, 


Images flash behind my eyes, 


Just minutes after they close.



.

They range from silly to terrifying,


My fears manifesting as dreams, 


From eating foods I should not eat, 


To coming apart at the seams. 



.

One night I dreamed such terrors, 


Of birth and hospitals and black veins. 


Which climbed eerily across my chest,


Although I felt no pain. 



.

I tried to find someone to help me, 


Carrying my little one around, 


But no one could understand me, 


As if I weren’t making a sound. 



.

I soon realized my husband was gone, 


And as I checked my phone,


Each photo of us disappeared, 


And I realized I was alone. 



.

My memories disappeared too, 


And I couldn’t remember the birth. 


Though I held the baby in my arms,


I collapsed crying to the earth. 



.

As I sobbed on the floor of the hospital, 


I slowly began to come to. 


I was in my bed in my bedroom, 


And the sky was lightening to blue.



.

My husband slept soundly beside me, 


And the birds were beginning to tweet. 


As I closed my eyes to sleep once more, 


I felt my baby kick its little feet.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alana S. Leonard

A long-time lover of reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.