Poets logo

Exorcism

Sometimes strange spirits find me in the dark

By Miles Rafael Bairley-UjuetaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Exorcism

I stare off into the mirror

And see the darkest stormy night before me

The shadows around me crawl

Twisted

Their elusive shapes the child of some dark mirage

Who pulls at their fringes as a madman pulls at the legs of a child’s doll

Until seams and sanity are split as one

And the stuffing drifts like hope to the floor

Throughout my tingling body

My nerves are gripped by the frigid tentacles of fear

An eldritch beast breathes noxious voices down my ears

And a thousand spirits worm through my swollen heart

Like maggots over a writhing carcass

The underworld is never far away

From Hades’ shadowy curtains

A distant figure emerges

Creeping closer at the pace of a grandfather clock

Sinking his insidious gaze into my trembling chest

Ah, my putrid demon prince

Here you are again before me

Ready as ever to plunge your talons into my soul

And blot out my aspirations with your midnight wings

Tell me my demonic friend

Why is that you have come again

Right when I’d thought to have struck you down for good?

You’ve never failed to terrify me

The way you twist my mind

And sour my sweetest memories

Yet now you ask why I laugh in your face?

Ah, come here my friend, and interlace your devilish fingers with my own

Why do you think you are called to me, because I am weak?

Foolishness is a delicious color on a demon

Do you forget I have lived a thousand of your life times?

You think I can see only a bottomless abyss behind your eyes but you are wrong

All I see

Is your pain

All I see

Is the day you used to be afraid

It seems that day has come again

That is why I smile at you my friend

Don’t run from me

The farther you run the more it shall become clear

Hades’ gates are closed to the likes of you

Those who can still taste fear are not welcome on Satan’s doorstep

And now I see it in your eyes

You feel not only your fear, not only your madness

You feel the loneliness that caused it

The solitude you knew would never end

Until I ended it

You have made a mistake in thinking I was yours to take

And you will not escape this place

Ever

Now I have only compassion for you

Trapped inside my heart

As the light within my body grows stronger every day

I will use you as you have used me

I will drown you in the light that flows from my soul

Until nothing is left

But my own reflection

Yes, remorse is a delicious emotion on a demon

I agree

Goodbye now

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Miles Rafael Bairley-Ujueta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.