Poets logo

Exhorting

Accepting

By PoeticallyPurple24Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Exhorting
Photo by John Price on Unsplash

It started when I was younger when I use to do great things.

And I didn’t get rewarded even though I accepted all the family brings.

I learned to write in cursive to forge my dads signature just to get through elementary school.

I know it was wrong but I was a clever fool.

If I did something bad it was expected.

But I thought at least I would feel accepted.

When i was a teen I was told I’d be like my mother.

And no one paid attention .

Not a little praise or mention.

When they thought I was promiscuous and sneaky .

They didn’t look at me freaky .

But that was an abuse story that I refused to be leaky .

I babysit and wrote poetry .

But no one cared about my voice then,

So why should I share my story.

Time went by and I’ve got the hang of life.

Cooking for my family,

Teased for being a mini housewife.

I went to school and tried ti make good grades.

I was struggle mentally from all the verbal degrades.

By the time I got my first job I didn’t look back.

No one praised me then ,but their hands were out faster than cars on a race track .

Then I lost my job and their hands fell.

I’ve hit rock bottom and I began to dwell.

Later that year I got a new job and I got my independence again.

I was so veils with joy but here comes the hands again.

I got my first apartment and I was doing so well.

But only one person was happy for me and I don’t know if I could really tell.

I write killer poetry and adulting.

All I get is praise from being like my mother or just adjusting .

For many years I just wish I could get a “keep up the good work” “I’m proud of you”you’re doing a great job.

My tears are burning my 25yr old cheeks as I sob.

Am I not worthy or great things?

Why does God or people give it to others but not me.

And it fucking stings .

I’m sitting here crying like a poor kid for acceptance from a world who would care less.

But a wise person told me you’re not here to impress.

You’re your own motivation and you should have ambition for yourself.

Even if you’re a small book in life on 5 story world bookshelf .

I don’t think it was good how I was raised

But you can do all the good in the world and never get accepted or praised.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

PoeticallyPurple24

I’m told I have a natural gift so let’s see how meaningful it really is !🥰

I used writing as a coping mechanism to get me through hardships in life .My goal is to become a poet that will change the world .I hope you can see my gift shine .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.