Poets logo

Excuses

Beauty Before Brains?

By Chrissy BarnhillPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Excuses
Photo by Peter Kalonji on Unsplash

Excuse me while I find myself. Excuse me while I place

My burning heart and emotions aside

To pull me out of this burning pit-

Somewhat alive. Excuse me while I grieve

For unspoken greed

And fears and thoughts of need-

Less unfortunate heated arguing while my own

Less misfortunate starving artists are hardening. Excuse me while I try and breathe

Through the polluted molecules, we call air. Excuse me if I may seem distant; I thought we might someday become a pair-

At least a ghost of a pair

Floating around a boat

Or maybe a flutter in a coat

We seem to be afloat/ing

On a wild goose chase of dreams. Excuse me, sir, you dropped your coat. I picked it up. Your thoughts were blowing by in the breeze. Like the driftwood Being brought to the sea/shore. I once entertained the thoughts of he and she being you and me. It led me to be brought-

Down from my own

Thought cloud of restless dreams. Excuse me, sir? When will you be available To come out and play? Doesn't the child within us all

Want to still have childlike themes? I won't grow old I won't be deceived. I'm going to live my life

Among the free. Freedom knocks upon our doors. Unlock the chains

We shan't but reign

Rain; the beauty before the brains?

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Chrissy Barnhill

Of In @ com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.