Poets logo

Excellence in Excess

Addictive Analytics

By Insinq DatumPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2022
28
Excellence in Excess
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

I'm lost once more within the maze

Accosted by my consequence

Years pass by my yet vacant gaze

I'm trapped within this rich pretence

x

I cannot bear to see the blaze

I hide myself, cover my eyes

I cannot face my end of days

My shame can't match my many lies

x

I've fed the shadow-flame too much

It's burning up my firmament

If I cannot forgo my crutch

I'll lose the gift that Heaven sent

x

The inferno consumes my will

It drains my life through my lament

The more and more I let it spill

The more I'm drowning in torment

x

So down and down, around we go

Coasting downhill is never slow

Rock bottom waits to break my fall

It always fates those in the thrall

x

Who find themselves within the grip

Of shady friends when up they slip

His claws and horns, from you they grow

The mirror may reveal your foe

x

The carnal train shall always call

To all lost souls yet stuck in stall

Their selfish ends await them there

The carnal train: a weak man's snare

x

The treasures they promise to share

Are pleasures one ought to beware

Lest one embark upon a trip

The end of which is out to rip

x

The hearts and souls of willing fools

Who thought that they could score some jewels

Without their playing by the rules

For idle hands make shadow tools

x

I slave away wasting my life

Spending each day nurturing strife

I trade my health, my wealth, my time

To demons for a faux sublime

x

I sold my soul, a craven crime

For me, the final bell does chime

If out of hell I cannot climb

Then this may well be my last rhyme

x

I cannot tell which way is up

The demon robs me of all sense

Too much yet overflows my cup

His way is an extravagance

x

Or better yet, a decadence

An overwhelming precedence

Or maybe just a preference

For excess in all excellence

x

A gluttonous Oblivion

He makes a feast out of my fear

To moderns, so quotidian

We medicate when life draws near

x

Of discomfort, we must steer clear

We close our ears so we won't hear

Prophetic words our inner seer

Projects upon the fragile sphere

x

Of self-esteem, the ego's home

We're terrified to read the tome

The one within-which lies the scroll

On which I signed away my soul

x

After that day, the fog swept in

And from then on, concealed my sin

And as I wander through the land

A storm does brew: a storm of sand

x

It wipes away my memory

And drowns out every melody

Erodes all that we've built and planned

Conceals the ground on which we stand

x

It separates us from the world

And isolates one single strand

Which amplifies as round it's whirled

Until it takes you by the hand

x

And shows in no uncertain terms

The lesson that you need to live

The learning that only confirms

That every taking serves to give

x

An opportunity to act

To bring to life the sign you tracked

To weave the magic of the storm

To call forth dawn, all bright and warm

x

This stall has surely reached its peak

Or is it depths of hell I seek?

Today's the day, it's now or not

I must act now or lose the plot

x

I've never yet just truly tried

If I could simply shoot my shot

I'm sure I'd find God on my side

If I could learn to love my lot

x

However much I might have lied

No matter how depraved my soul

God's flames will purify my hide

And forge a diamond out of coal

x

If I'm to be my spirit guide

I must confront my wayward pride

I must commit, I must decide

Must make my anima my bride.

slam poetryperformance poetry
28

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a year ago

    Such a good piece. Thank you for sharing.

  • Nova Binxabout a year ago

    "we medicate when life draws near" stunning piece! so enthralling!

  • Loryne Andawey2 years ago

    What a gift you've given us! Thank you.

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    Oh wow! Amazing.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    A very intense ride, sir. Give us more!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Fantastic piece. Well done.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    So much depth and feeling in this. The rhyming and the rhythm were superb. Excellent work :) Congrats on your Top Story!

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    The rhythm of this is superb, as is the message. 🌟

  • Excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.