Poets logo

Evisceration

Poppy's Prompts | #4

By Brenton FPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
10
image by crAIyon.com

mutate my hurts into open wounds

rend and flay them open wide

flailing about in tears and viscera

this sabotage starts from inside

a strawberry stain flushes my face

i try and hold back my hair

i retch out this Ratched wretchedness

i let my insides meet the air

my innards are disposable commodities

strewn about with a lack of care

this is the very essence of me

and it’s all i’m willing to share

a serious state of unravelling

i look like a de spooled cassette

say what you want about me

but lack of guts, aint it; just yet

marred reflections no directions

and all that has come to pass

like a tea cup in a broken storm

a stomach full of shattered glass

surreal poetryfact or fiction
10

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy about a month ago

    Ahh this is incredible!! "this sabotage starts from inside" hit hard. "i retch out this Ratched wretchedness" is a brilliant line. "i look like a de spooled cassette" was a great use of cassette and really created some marvelous imagery. One of my new favourite similes. The ending was superb too.

  • Wow! Extremely emotive poem… ‘this sabotage starts from inside a strawberry stain flushes my face’ Great use of all 5 prompts.

  • does the unraveling end? As always you pick the scabs of my heart...

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    "stomach full of shattered glass" - that's some imagery right there!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is powerful, and so well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.