Poets logo

Everyday meditation

No longer a desperate grasping

By Pauline FountainPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
[ Image: Pauline Fountain ]

Before? I practiced Mediation many times a day.

Mindfulness overtly embedded in everyday tasks.

Sometimes identifying via senses, a soft space. For me the deliberate count down of sight and sound comparisons of labelled count downs from 5 to 1.

A desperate grasping.

I was caught in a rip trying to keep my head above water.

Looking at the distant shore, hoping I'd find my footing and out of the panic of control lost.

My self help books stacked on the bedside table, dog eared pages, with underlined and highlighted passages, annotated with self representations, hoping that somewhere between the covers and within the contents I'd find the answers that would settle often time racing thoughts.

I'd listen to podcasts about the nature of suffering and find comfort and reassurance that my experiences were shared by many.

Part of life, and that through prescribed guidance I would find some semblance of solid ground.

Now? I practice Meditation and Mindfulness without a deliberate ‘To Do’ list schedule.

It sits comfortably beside me as I get on and live it in daily life.

Pauline Fountain. © 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.