Poets logo

Everyday begins the same

Exactly the same

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
16
Everyday begins the same
Photo by Rafael Leão on Unsplash

every day

I try to dream again

(about that

Place)

A crisp salty splash

A warm

Flowing water

Sand creeping up my thighs

You by my side,

Yeah, that’s nice,

That’s real fucking nice.(get closer to me, please, with that brown hair curled by your ears and deep deep deep water blue eyes)

You look good,

And even beautiful

I can’t tell you that,

I’m

Your best friend

And that’s weird.

Every day is the (fucking same!!!!!!).

I wake up,

You are not there.

I remember that nice day at the beach,

Like it was yesterday,

But, well,

It wasn’t.

I’m so fuckin’ depressed

I can’t even dream anymore.

My body aches

My breath is pulsing with warbling

Waves

My piercing fingers hurt

As I learn my body isn’t reacting

Correctly to any sort of chemical bonds

I try to instigate or instill.

I say to the mirror,

“I’m fucking cool, man,” and then

Curse my tears, they are too feminine.

I’m here man, I long to hear from you just once more.

But it’s all the fuckin’ same,

Every second of every minute of every slow Goddamn hour of every shitty, horrible, missed day

I tell myself, be a man,

Be

A

Fucking

Man

And my painful tears push me to sleep,

I’m so damn sorry, I’m

Dying

I am

Not what my father wanted,

No, nor you.

excerpts
16

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Very expressive and emotionally charged!

  • A.2 years ago

    Painful. Powerful. Artfully told!

  • This brought me to tears as I know that feeling only too well

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Brilliant!

  • Nice poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding and heartfelt!!!💖😊💕

  • Atomic Historian2 years ago

    Excellent!

  • Love the minimalist style of this, and here for you sis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.