Poets logo

Evermore in Nevermore

A Nightmare

By Josh LPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

For the clock struck eleven,

I woke with no apprehension

Of such tyranny that struck me

As the bells of the clock chime.

What horror was this,

A fault of thine

For nothing was mine

In the dark hallows of life

Life, such a precious gift,

Now I have come to squander it

For what is life but a tiff

A tiff without a gift

What a gift was given to me

A life stem from mine

Yet to end it was the greatest sin

I always wonder what could’ve been

Been would be the life of the unknown

But for the unborn

It is never known what their future could be

But a string of possibility

I paced upon the floor

For the hours continued more

Each step was a chore

For I had no one to answer for

There was a knocking at the door,

A strange occurrence evermore

I approached the door with such sore

Figuring I already knew what was in store

But alas, what did I see

Nothing appeared to me,

Nothing but the night air

To send me into despair

I closed the door

And paced the floor

Only to hear the door

And once again I soared

I opened the door

Nothing was there

But the chilling night air

So I closed the door

What things have been haunting me

All of this, as far as I could see

Was a just punishment for a sinner like me

No redemption on the final days, woe me

Three knocks struck the door,

I had such a tremor of fear.

I approached the door

Only to find nevermore

The clock struck behind me,

For another hour past me.

What was happening to me,

A just torture for me

For tonight was the night

A life was supposed to take flight

But it was because of my might

That life never took such flight

Who is the mortal judge that decides

Who gets to live and who gets to die

Who shall seek salvation and who shall seek redemption

Who shall enter a city and who shall enter perdition

For what fires arose at the door

I jumped on the creaky floor

As the inferno rose higher than before

I scrambled to get to the door

For those fires signed me

As they condemned me

For the sinner I am

And the sins that shall be

The smoke blinded me

For I could not afford to see

The great glory that could’ve been

That I have squandered grim

What horrors do I write of

Nothing close to love

The very thing I have deposed

For the life I have closed

Through the flames as I saw

Was something I could only awe

Was nothing short of my biggest flaw

Through the flames such I saw

A child, of mild,

Who smiled, who beguiled

Such wild, such spoiled

Defiled and reviled

What lacrimosa was this,

For a nightmare tis,

To see the specter of the next

Only to be in the sight of the Rex

Such chorus grew around me

For a chorus as hellish as me

Began to cant around me

To recant for my plea

I fell down to the floor

With nothing but a tear

Dropped from my eyes

Nothing close to wise

For the phantom of the child came

Through the fiery flames it came

Approached me through the flame

To forgive me for my horrendous blame

Such forgiveness I do not deserve

For I have done nothing to serve

Such a child, doesn’t he deserve

A father who shall him serve

Tears rolled down my cheek

For I could not believe what I seek

Finally came to me while I was weak

Now on the floor, too terrified to speak

He touched my shoulder,

As I shook with a stutter

For which he uttered such whisper

“Everything shall be evermore in nevermore”

I shuttered on the floor

Weak I was in such splendor

I had nothing to answer for

I had no license I swore

For he said

“As the Lord has bled

You shall inherit His hand

And shall live in the eternal land.”

I said, “For a sinner as me,

Shall never foresee

Such a land described to me,

For unbearable sins will still be.”

For he said

“For entrance shall be granted

To those who are truly candid

About the sins they have commanded.”

I said, “Such sins I have commanded,”

For those sins I am truly candid

Yet nothing is enough to be said

For what I have done for my own advantage.”

For a kiss he placed unto me

Upon my forehead bleak

For a father weak

And a son peak

The child left me

As I left him

Abandoned in my own misery

For which I was the admissory

The clock struck once again

For I have nothing more to gain

But a child who has left a stain

Despite only being slain

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Josh L

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.