Poets logo

Evergreen

Home is evergreen

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Evergreen
Photo by Victor Vorontsov on Unsplash

Home is something evergreen

Soft at the right touch

If you seek to grab it quick

The price may be quite rough

All else fades beneath the world

Its turning rules the land

But evergreen it stands alone

Sky held up in its hands

I used to seek it everywhere

Trust in cardboard hung for style

Sparkling lights hid tricksters

Who dazzled with a smile

Yet their scent was not so clean

Their heart not living-strong

Pale plastic and tinsel could not hold a beat

No soul holding a song

I ran into the forest then

And trees I found in vastness

But each turned cold and dark at dusk

Leaves left behind in rashness

I knew they would not hold me close

If they could drop their own

I searched the woods ten days and nights

I wanted to find home

What I found was searchers lost

Yet in their seeking, found

Growing is the hardest path

But we had fertile ground

Together we could plant the seeds

And guard the fledgling sprout

If home was not there to be found

Then we would coax it out

Home is something evergreen

It starts small, weak, and soft

If we will stay together

It will grow ever more oft

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.