Poets logo

Ever Since the Day You Left

Alex Moran

By Alex MoranPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Ever since the day you left

I don’t wear my seatbelt anymore

And I speed everywhere I go

Because I don’t care anymore

Ever since the day you left

I either don’t eat or I eat too much because…

I want to fill the emptiness

That you left in my heart

And my stomach is the only thing that I can fill

Ever since the day you left

The only way I can feel anything

Is if I create pain in myself

So I feel it as blood rushes down my thighs

The worst is when it stains my pretty blue shirt

You know...the Vneck

The one you used to tell me you loved

Even though you left that day

I still requested the days off work

The ones you wanted

I will work Tuesday thru Saturday

Take off Sunday and Monday

Those were our days

Ever since you left that day

I can’t go to certain places

The zoo for one cause you said we would go together

I can’t go to the aquarium

Because you got angry at me when I said I would go alone

Ever since the day you left

I barely leave my room

I don’t see a point in breathing anymore

I rarely even go to class

I quit my job because that meant getting out of bed

Ever since the day you left

Breathing just seems too hard now

Sleeping us a thing of the past

And I can’t make myself happy anymore

Maybe it’s best that you’re gone

Cause maybe someday I’ll get it all back

But don’t worry

Ever since the day you left

I’ve known that I wasn’t enough for anyone

I’ve known that my heart is totally broken

And I’ve known that it’s always going to be that way

And yes ever since the day you left

I drive faster

I do it so that maybe someone will hit me

Maybe somebody will hot me

Maybe somebody will take me out of this pain

And I don’t wear a seat belt anymore

Because then if someone will hit me

Maybe I will fly

And ever since the day you left

I know why hurricanes are named after people

Because I can’t go anywhere that you wanted to go with me anymore

And I can’t kiss anybody without thinking of you

Ever since the day you left

I’m not the same person anymore

I’ll never be that sad pathetic person anymore

I don’t have a heart anymore

So ever since the day you left

I’ve become a monster

You drag me to hell

But when you come back it gives me a little piece of Heaven

That I think I deserve

But you don’t stay long

You leave again as quick as you came

Then I have to continue this sad pathetic poem

About the day you left me

Again...

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Alex Moran

I am a English minor and psychology major. I have been through a very traumatic brain injury and writing has been my way to get through. I appreciate any tips that can be given because I am going through a law suit against a drunk driver 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.