Poets logo

Eternal Strife

Catch you on the flip side

By Dakota Love DanglerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Eternal Strife
Photo by Kostiantyn Li on Unsplash

I wanted something more

Something undeniable that I could not ignore

Something so enveloping it nearly killed me

Or maybe actually did.

Pushing me to just shy of the brink of insanity all so you can gleam watching me claw my way back and reach your arms, looking to steady the imbalance. The idea of the embrace is everything I cannot endure without, and you know that.

We meet on the edge of the brink with caffeine soaking our fangs and life to catch up on teasing the tips of our split tongues because this is what we do and how we move, and I would say before we know it we are each other's again, but we never were. Because we were never oblivious, and we will never pretend to be. What is mine can never be yours. This is not us because there is not an us. All this is is pulling and pulling until we tear at what we thought were much more tattered skins with much less taut arms. Us never existed in this realm which makes it all much more irresistible to cling to. The crave of friction. A forever longing for connection. No wonder we cannot meet in the middle, we are far too full of ourselves.

Perhaps there is a we, however much I buckle under the slightest whisper of that notion.

If I were wise, the coat would have been left on the back of the chair. This storm is one I know how to bear; how I received compliments on my slick blonde hair.

heartbreakslam poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Dakota Love Dangler

Because it's easier to write my thoughts than speak them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.