Poets logo

Etching Happiness

Yes, Dad You Gave Happiness too.

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Tis the day to taunt the fish

With tasty treats of slimy worms.

This the day to travel,

To the inland lakes ringed with reeds.

Tis the day to take

The fatherly hand lifting me guiding me

Swishing waters kiss the shore

Lapping at the bow.

Silence broken with pull of a cord.

Engines roar a deafening scream.

Sputters of fumes alert my nose

To awareness of the day

Wind pushed against my skin

Cold start to the day.

Whips at my hair and coat.

Winding path the boat fled

Across the deep green waters

Lingering may flies filled the air

Dancing on the wind

Laughing and playing with their friends.

Tag or a battle of will no one knows

Love is in the air as each mate upon demand.

Chosen, a promising spot

Among the tall reeds.

Challenged by the withering worm

Twist and turns in little fingers

Creator of a fish buffet I became to be.

Stolen treats from thieves below.

Plunking sounds of cast lines

Bellowed me to try again.

Pause of time of stillness

Where one can just be.

Parched tongues beacon

Pouring coffee lofts in the air.

Excitement of the pay below

Fish swimming to and fro.

Enticing stories spoken in deep languid tones

Build a bridge of parentage

Etching happiness into the soul.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.