Poets logo

Establishment Failure

Tribal Administration

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Establishment Failure
Photo by Ayo Ogunseinde on Unsplash

Time had held

me slave to discovery

of self

and self-will to thrive.

******

Deception of

others and establishments

lies and betrayals

of community.

******

Traits learned

from mediocre

control of men

and government.

******

Patterned after

the same establishment

that destroyed

My people's way of life.

******

Yet they cleave

to unhealthy

foundations

and flawed beliefs.

******

They remain

puppets tied

the strings

of the Federal Government.

******

They cling

to the money

offered

as a means to survive.

******

The people

wait for assistance

only denied

help out of greed.

******

The cries

from the people

ring through

the eithers of prayer.

******

Greed of money

closes the ears

of those who

have sworn to serve.

******

The greater

society

still holds

a noose around their neck.

******

Tribal government

fails many

and turns an eye

away from those they serve.

******

Shame is

not mine to own

for theirs

for them to atone for.

******

I withdraw

to save myself

from the failures

I witnessed

******

Cleave to

the disgust

of the

Federal government

******

Take up

their cry

while ignoring

your own.

******

Youth and Elders

cry for help

and yet

the gold has you blind.

******

Shame on you

Tribal Administration

don't come

and beg my forgiveness.

**********

I will not

acknowledge you

I will not

serve you or them.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.