Poets logo

Escape Route

A free verse poem about “not being obligated to like one another and being free to live how we want”

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Escape Route
Photo by alevision.co on Unsplash

You’re not obligated

to revere my positive character traits

if you’re not inclined to.

If you don’t like me,

you know where

to find your escape route.

🌺🌺🌺🌺

It’s a waste of time

to idolize and cherish each other

when we’re meant to dislike each other.

We’re free to roam around

our own separate boulevards

and find other people to admire.

🌺🌺🌺🌺

I’m not forced

to venerate you.

if you don’t feel the same way about me.

If I dislike you,

I’ll be on my way

to enter my escape route.

🌺🌺🌺🌺

Unreasonable expectations

to fancy someone I’m meant to disfavour

will land me in flaming fire.

Unwanted people imposing

their fake morals and principles onto me

is a recipe for human destruction.

By Jac Alexandru on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my free-verse poems. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more of my Vocal publications, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile. Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal! Until next time!

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

Facebook: Talia Devora (please connect with me through FB groups like Vocal Creators Saloon and Vocal Society Society)!

Medium Profile:

AllPoetry Profile:

By Ali Kazal on Unsplash

#inspirationalpoetry #selfmotivation #autisticpoet #freeversepoetry #selfempowerment #walkonyourownpath #keepthriving #staystrong #don'tletothersdiscourageyou

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.