Poets logo

Error In My Mind

My mind is spitting out error codes

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Picsart free photo, edited by Nathalie Daux

There's an error in my brain,

A virus running rampant

And destroying the delicate memories

Of long-gone autumns,

Trees that have cracked and given

Under the weight of winter.

***************************************

It rattles and rumbles and roars

Like Niagra in the once quiet places of my thoughts,

Tainting every last inch of me

With error codes and static

And haunting images I can't wipe off the screen.

The skeletons are trembling in my closet.

***************************************

I never dreamt I'd be lost in a sea of green,

Warped images refracting through the water,

Poisoning the canyons of my mind

With the virus, the unending mutating creature

That serves to inspire my thoughts,

Shove diseased words on my tongue.

***************************************

Yet I'm floating beneath the surface,

Stuck underneath the rippling water

Reaching its fingers to the furthest shore.

There's no escape, no striding from the lake

Into the warm arms of summer.

This is home, and I will yield to the cool autumn breeze.

I will not give to the error code in my mind.

*****************************************

Thank you for reading.

Remember, if you liked what you read, leave a heart below and subscribe! If you really like what I'm writing, leave a tip, follow me on Instagram (@silver.serpent.books) and follow my Ko-fi or Buy Me A Coffee for exclusive updates.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.