Poets logo

Epilogue.

An Addition to the ‘Dear Narcissist’ Series

By Poppy Published 2 months ago 1 min read
22
Image Created on Midjourney

You are a fleeting thought

And a passing comment

A closed wound and

A finished chapter

You live your life like

Fireworks too close to the ground

You release toxins, call it ‘beauty’

You cause flames and burns but

Refuse to look your victims in the eye

Refuse to acknowledge the

Collateral damage

I used to lie bleeding

In your wake

Now I look over my own shoulder

Make lists of every risk

Hellbent on leaving safety behind

Not corpses (like you do)

I do not miss you

Or envy you

Or even hate you

All I can say is

I am glad I’m not you

❀❀❀❀❀

The Finale:

The Sister Poem:

fact or fiction
22

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I saw the picture & immediately thought, "She's back." But it turns out she's gone, perhaps for good. Still, those wounds inflicted do tend to haunt & fester.

  • Brin J.2 months ago

    "Hellbent on leaving safety behind Not corpses (like you do)" This part stood out to me in particular. I feel like it truly conveys the mental state of the narrator... This is someone who's suffered greatly, and they never want to cause that same kind of pain to anyone else.❤️‍🩹

  • That last line, mic drop! So freaking powerful! Loved your poem!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    The fireworks line was 🔥! Very well done. I’m going to have to explore this series! Made me think of my boss…

  • I don't know how you keep outdoing yourself with each poem. I loved the growing power in this poem. Amazing!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    I particularly like that first four lines!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Mic drop, fist pump, whatever works, this felt like an anthem by the end!! Loved the fireworks line so much :)

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Love that kick at the end. Well said

  • Excellent Dear Narcissist Epilogue!🤩 ‘You live your life like Fireworks too close to the ground You release toxins, call it ‘beauty’ So well said. Great conclusion too: ‘ I do not miss you Or envy you Or even hate you.”✅

  • True freedom

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    You are such an artist, Ms Thepoet. This is a brilliantly defiant and beautiful "f u" full of resilience and healing! Well done.

  • 🌹🌹🌹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.