Poets logo

Ephemeral

Poem

By Jazzy Published 7 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
35
Ephemeral
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

Chasing the feeling

Made before

What is life but a series of voices,

Whispering there's something more?

๐ŸŒ‘

Mind racing

Every thought of that

I wanted before

Holding space for that passing

As my heart beats to the sound of the unknown

I'm wishing for

silence

the voices from inside won't stop

๐ŸŒ’

Taking the plunge

I notice a void

Silence

I yearned before given freely

It's too much

I wasn't ready

I struggle to breach

claw my way up

Will I make it to the top?

performance poetry
35

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Fantastic poem, Jazzy. I really loved two of the beginning lines, "What is life but a series of voices, whispering for something more?" If that doesn't nail the human experience, I don't know what else would. Also, was it, "taking the plunge?"

  • RL Stevenson3 months ago

    Yes, this is ethereal and reflective. How can we not ask for more? Seek and we shall find! Lovely poem, Jazzy!! ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’•

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Dear Jazzy, I think thereโ€™s always โ€˜moreโ€™ if we are open and know where to look.. a really thoughtful little piece/poem. Terrific job. So this morning I woke up and seemed to have a tip from you but I havenโ€™t written anything in weeks.. so I was like did her fingers slip!?..๐Ÿคช Well itโ€™s mine now, so thank you very much. ๐Ÿ˜ I missed this piece of yours earlier but congrats on your top story as well! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    I like how the last word is top, and it got top story. Congrats in a tardy way, been trying to regain my time schedule for reading. Glad I went back to this, it is exquisite. Making the mind race with that series of voices. Trying to rise out of silence and emptiness and find itself.

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I am not surprised this made it as a top story. An extremely well written piece exploring the concept of chronic discontent. Brilliantly done!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Powerful performance poem!!! Loving it!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    great work โค๏ธ

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Wow! This is one of your best! Thank you for crafting and sharing! And congrats!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Jazzy this was relatable and very moving for me! Great work and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Antonella Rustica7 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Congratulations on your Top Story๐Ÿ’ฏโ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‰๐ŸŽ‰

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Yes, I believe you will make it. Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    One of my favourite words and one of my favourite pieces by you! congrats on TS!

  • Test7 months ago

    Back with congratulatons x Beautifully done x

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Thought-provoking & very well-written!

  • S. A. Crawford7 months ago

    There are so many layers of meaning here! 'Holding space for that passing' - I love that line, the dual ideas of both making room in your life for growth, but also perhaps holding something back from other opportunities as you keep your eyes focussed on one point far ahead. Then the sudden realization that what you leapt for is too much, too hard, too big, too lonely; or simply not what you thought it would be. This is really artful!

  • Omggg that jump is scaryyyy especially when we're not ready! I guess there is not right time but only when we feel ready. Loved your poem!

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    Oh I felt this! That leap of faith is always terrifying, but it beats the alternative of staying stuck. Beautifully done.

  • Test7 months ago

    Great poem, Jazzy, with so many lovely turns of phrase ๐Ÿ’™Anneliese

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Great read! I love this line โ€œAs my heart beats to the sound of the unknownโ€ and also the symbolism of the emojis!!

  • Test7 months ago

    Stunning. Reminds me so much of Macbeth. All just signifying nothing x ๐Ÿค

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    This is pure genius: "What is life but a series of voices, Whispering there's something more?" Beautiful poem, Jazzy!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Gorgeous As always

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    I believe you will make it to the top. In fact, youโ€™re already there. ๐Ÿงก

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.