Poets logo

English

For English Language Day 23/04/23

By ThatWriterWomanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
English
Photo by Surendran MP on Unsplash

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Every word written or spoken in English could line the world’s beaches in fine sands,

Notebooks filled with works yet to be seen; volcanic,

Great words are created when the dictionary expands,

Long has it been since the North Sea Germanic,

Ingvaeonic from Germany, Denmark, and the Netherlands,

Sacrificed from sails afar and poured into us; Brittanic,

How clever they were.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N: This is my first attempt at an acrostic poem! It was a challenge but that was its purpose (I am expanding on my poetry knowledge!). It took me back to school where we used to write these in English class - so I wrote one for English Language Day 2023!

I hope you enjoyed this, thank you for reading! Please like, comment, and subscribe to be notified when I post. Also, you can follow me here on Twitter or Facebook!

-TWW

surreal poetryvintagesocial commentary
2

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Oh, I love this! What a great tribute to the English language.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was fun and creative, you did really well! Nice work, TWW! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.