Poets logo

Engine 927

For Hampton and Tom B who both left this earth on 9/27

By J. S. WadePublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
26
Image by DALL•E 2

Engine number nine-two-seven.

“All aboard,” cries the headman.

Polished bright, it stalks the night.

Through village towns and urban homes

Without fail the world it roams.

Twenty- four bells from heaven to hell.

Past depots and empty docks,

Re-al-i-ty denied and mocked.

People slept while Azrael crept.

Humans, young and old despise.

Clarions, for names incised,

Tolling bells and earthbound hells.

Speeding down the tracks of life

Parting, cutting, with its scythe.

Reapers rip and spirits clipped.

Pickers swing, screams pierce the night,

loved ones gone past the divide.

Death has come, our worlds undone,

Angels count, punched tickets due,

Unprejudiced, of any hue.

Corpses cold lay in their hold.

My-ster-ies; life redefined,

Once alive, now out of time.

Each a clock………… stopped.

Murderers hide, rivals dance.

Heedless whether wolf or lamb.

Family joys the Grim destroys.

Engine number nine-two-seven

Next stop, the gates of heaven

Took my son, and Vocal friend.

Two fine men the world has lost

On this day, we honor, pause,

to celebrate and dedicate.

First a Student in his prime,

then a Wordsmith of his time.

On their lives we meditate.

***

Rest assured our ticket waits.

Departure set by who Creates.

A date for all, a final call.

Reapers come, and cast their pall,

Winter, spring, summer, or fall

Young or old or slag or gold.

Love all people while you may.

No one knows their final day.

Live it right and share your light,

Next comes Engine Nine-two-eight

The Grim Reaper, patient, waits.

Polished bright, it stalks the night.

Nine-two-nine awaits in line.

Nine-three-o, is ready to go.

Ten-o-one will be on time.

Ten-o-two, …….

Ten-o-three……

Infinity……

……

……

……

**** **** **** ****

9/27/2018 my son, Hampton Wade was killed on S.C. Highways. Three years later I awoke dreading the day when notice was sent to me our dear Vocal mentor and friend, Tom Bradbury, had died in tragic fire in France. Double loss, one near and one far, is a reminder of the frailty of life. Tom was finally laid to rest this past summer in his beloved England.

I dedicate this poem in memory of both. Two fine men, who both gave generously to the world around them.

Neither will ever be forgotten as long as I have breath and my the engine comes to take me away. I will run the heavens with my precious son and sit with Tom as he critiques my writing. Maybe he’s screaming now about this poem. 😂

On 9/27 I hope you join me in this remembrance.

Hampton Wade

Tom Bradbury

lance

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetry
26

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer8 months ago

    Wonderful tribute. I’m very sorry for the loss of your son and friend.

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    I remember Tom and I’ve read about son. So so tragic it’s hard to put into words. They would be proud of you for this gorgeous poem. ❤️

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    What a poem! 👏🙏😔 So much nuance and elements to ponder! I’m sorry for your losses, yet a lovely tribute you provide. I didn’t know of Tom but have since read a few of his pieces which were terrific. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. This poem is stunning, such a beautiful tribute. 💙

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    This was so touching and such an important reminder to cherish each day. Thank you for sharing these words even though my heart hurts for you and everyone affected by the loss of these two beautiful souls.

  • This stole my breath and broke my heart. What an incredible tribute and reflection of love and loss. Thank you, my friend for being the open vessel, willing to create such a powerful message

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I'm so sorry. This is a beautiful tribute, but I'm sorry. Where in England was Hampton laid to rest?

  • Sorry I missed this , very heartfelt

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    🙏🏽 Amazing! Engine 927... This is beyond creative, it's genius. It feels like Tom and Hampton both visited you while you crafted these words. Not sure how I missed this. Just saw it on vocal assist and so glad I did. Sobering, yet celebratory for the lives they led. May God rest their souls. 💖

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Oh my goodness. This simply stunning. Just a beautiful job, my friend.

  • Call Me Les8 months ago

    Poignant words eloquently arranged. I think he would have loved them. Dark and gritty but also beautiful. It's true we just never really know. I try to move forward but the pull of the 26th and 27th will be a lifetime epicenter for me too. Keeping you close in my heart this week Scott. 🤍

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Scott, this is so beautifully written and so heartbreaking! Pain truly does make for the most moving and masterful of pieces, I'm sorry yours runs so deeply! I hope you can find peace! I am so sorry for your losses, know that you are not alone and that they will be watching over you! 💜 This is such a beautiful tribute to these beloved men of yours, thank you for having the courage to write and share it with us! 🩵

  • Death and grief is so inevitable. I wish it wasn't. This was a beautiful tribute to Hampton and Tom ❤️

  • JBaz9 months ago

    You honour them both worth this tribute. I hope this helps with your healing

  • Cindy Calder9 months ago

    An emotional read, but a beautifully written, commemorative poem.

  • Ahna Lewis9 months ago

    A beautiful tribute with an important message! Thanks for sharing, Scott. ❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Scott, what a beautiful and powerful piece! I will sit with each line of this again, and I will absolutely pause with you and honor these two incredible men. Continuing to hold you all close at heart. Thank you for writing this. Perspective renewed.

  • A. Lenae9 months ago

    What a loving and powerful tribute. The palpable presence of these two men in your heart is so special to capture and express in a poem. I am so sorry that you have had to experience the loss of your son. May this shining piece provide you with comfort and deepen your connection with both your friend and son by sharing their beauty with all of us.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Magnificent tribute to Hampton & Tom! Now, they live in our hearts♥ ♥ ♥ Besides 9/11, 9/27 will be remembered too.

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    This is beautiful, and I’m so very sorry ❤️

  • I'm so sorry for your losses. I will be thinking of you.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    I’ve had you on my mind Since 9/1, counting down the days of this month. This poem is a fitting way to depict the unrelenting journey of a day. I’m just going to sit with you for a bit after reading this. {{ }}

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.