Poets logo

Enemy In The Mirror

Hindsight

By Rebecca DalmasoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Enemy in the Mirror

The thing about love is it's beautifully flawed

You can't turn it off, it will not be ignored

Sometimes it's a confusing and bloody mess

Constantly evolving, putting you to the test

I'm not an ugly person, I have done some ugly things

Try to see me standing before you and not my sins

Self loathing and desperation, my new reality

Both paying the price for my lesson in morality

Hindsight is torture, important and necessary pain

I swear to you all I won't be back here again

Hard to spot a mistake until it is done

The battle for perfection will never be won

Look deep in to my eyes you will see I have changed

She who stood here yesterday was broken and deranged

I know I am undeserving of your trust on this day

Please know I would rip out my heart before I would stray

I see my worst enemy when I look in the mirror

Through the smoke from my fire I see the world clearer.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Dalmaso

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.