Poets logo

Encounter

a poem

By chicharon19Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photograph by chicharon19

I remember the slow procession of boats and their black nets

That evening at the old pier, when, having fallen asleep

On a bench, I suddenly woke up from a strange dream,

Faintly recalling an encounter with a man at that same spot,

A man who looked like me, and who, after an argument,

Drew a revolver and shot me to death, then dragged my body

Into the water. As I sank, he calmly sat down on the same iron bench,

Gazing at the passing boats. The sun had set, the wind sighing.

The pained joy that it had all just been a dream, the stars

A scattered chorus above me. I walked back home.

For a number of days, I didn’t leave my room,

Avoiding the company of friends. I grew weary

Of my old causes, wary of any gestures of generosity,

Stopped smoking, religiously saw the doctor for the smallest cough

Or irregular heartbeat. In time, my voice grew coarse,

As if a crow had been trapped, thrashing wildly, in my lungs.

These days, when I look in the mirror, I recognise

The man from that night, the criminal I have become,

As my old self lies submerged under the drifting boats,

From time to time getting tangled in their mournful nets.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

chicharon19

chicharon19 is a poet living in Newcastle in Ausralia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.